h1

Once a Tank Always a Tank!!!

December 23, 2008

My Paladin is my main miner/blacksmith and probably should have been my main starting tank.  I tanked all of the Burning Crusade normal 5 man Instances with her, doing more tanking in BC as a paladin than as a warrior (I tanked more as a Warrior in the Classic dungeons so he has the Mallet and the Scepter!!!). 

I ended up playing my shaman more in Burning Crusade because of how crap gear itemisation was pre-raiding for Paladin tanks, and I didn’t want to sacrifice +def for +HP, but groups never saw it that way and I didn’t get a shot at tanking heroics.  Besides, my ELE/RESTO Draenei Shaman got a head start by being levelled first, so ended up my Heroic and Raiding Character. 

Anyway, I’ve decided that the Alliance Raiding guild on Dragonblight are already too far away from me in terms of getting my 73 Human DK into a comfortable 5 man/raiding cycle because they have already been clearing Naxx and most hit 80 in 2-3 weeks (we were all in NAXX pre BC as well so it is no surprise).  They also limit you to one Raid Main, which misses the WotLK vibe of making raiding a hobby.  My Real Life friends from home are not really playing so much due to children, life etc.  So I’m going all out Horde for the foreseable future and leaving my fully Purple Shaman, my pre BC raiding Hunter and my 73 DK. 

Another interesting factor is my stepson is also on Earthen Ring EU, as an Alliance character, and I hope to see him on the PVP fields for some banter in the house!!!!  

My Paladin ‘Narielle’ made the cobalt tanking set for both my Death Knight and my Protection warrior, but she has been unfairly side lined in WOTLK so far, but no more.  What with Death Knights, and the awesome changes to Protection Warriors, she went down in the play order!!!  She would probably make an excellent main, if I wasn’t an Altoholic!! 

As my Blood Knight had not yet benefited from her Blacksmith skill, and tanks with Blacksmithing have a distinct advantage, she should be played for what she was made for.  I was also getting a bit bored trying to level my Orcs DK’s BS skills (I’ll come back to it at 80 I think!!).  So instead of mining for my Death Knight last night, I made her the Cobalt Tank set as well.  It is way better than all of the Burning Crusade blue tanking items (although I’ll miss the righteous dungeon set bonuses!!) and will help getting The Nexus quest tanking gear.

Once I had made the Cobalt set for her, I added the Scryers Shoulder enchant + 13 defence, and the Keepers of Time helm enchant + 16 defence + 9 dodge and with a blue tanking cape, blue rings and two nice blue tanking trinkets got her to a very respectable 541 +defence in primarily green tanking gear!!!  With the Burning Crusade blues, I hovered around 485-495 +defence. 

Fair enough she only has just under 11k health points unbuffed, (it was 9.5k with Blue Paladin Dungeon Set) but she is more than viable at 70 and should take hardly any damage!!!  It is a bit of deja vue though, despite the fact she’ll be potentially uncrittable I’m sure most groups wont see past the Health, but I think the Journey to 80’s tanking will be kinder.

Tonight I’ll try to add some Blacksmith Sockets and try to raise her HP by 1k with them and cook up some + STAM food.
So I’ve blown my plan of tanking as a Death Knight main, and having a DPS warrior (specced back to Prot) and a Paladin Healer (also specced back to Prot)….  I am tempted to try to compare all three characters at 80, and make that a focus for this blog.  Once a tank always a tank!!!

My new personal end game will be making 3 plate tanks, and looking for a friendly Horde guild on Earthen Ring EU.  If you know any nice small friendly Horde guiilds on that realm that want a multi purpose tanking player? 

oh noes…….. I’m now considering levelling my 21 Tauren Druid!!!   If I find enough time I will, and who knows… maybe in the future I’ll complete a tanking characters set!!!!!!

2 comments

  1. Hi,

    it is realy sad that you are no longer focusing on the death knight. I expected much from you tanking expierience in Obsidian, Naxx, Heroics and so on.

    Death Knight is the interesting point at the given moment. So much to experience.
    E.g. I Hit 80 finally. And have all blue stuff in deff gear. But only 504 Def.
    I am missing a trinket and cloch, no enchants so far.

    So qeustion: Do you have to wear two defens one hand wappons?
    Or farm the 68 def trinket and get the enchants.

    I was surprised by this. If i would have known that early i would have gone more agressive to get those two one hand wappons with def.


  2. I started off on EU Earthern ring but got bored of lack of pvp. Hence I rerolled Horde and moved to deathwing Eu pvp.

    Anyway thanks for the glut of info you left on my blog, lots of food for thought



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

